IT Destruction and Security Shredding

Secure IT Waste Management

Are you looking for a proficient waste management service? Do you require collection and destruction of material which is of a confidential nature?

Under the terms of the Data Protection Act 1998, it is a legal requirement for organisations to securely dispose of confidential and personal data.  So Secure can ensure that papers of a confidential nature are shredded and then either baled, recycled or destroyed.

All destruction carried out is certified with a Certificate of Destruction.

Office Clearances

Clear out unwanted items – from small one off collections to large clear outs.

IT Equipment Collection

  • Collection of redundant computer equipment
  • Certified audit trails
  • All Equipment recycled or reused where possible

Paper/Card Recycling

Paper & cardboard collected & recycled. Bins or balers supplied where required. Collection by EA certified trucks.

Confidential Destruction

Confidential Material – this can be information stored or printed on paper records, computer media, digital memory, hard discs, optical discs, smart cards, magnetic tape. This also means commercial and intellectual products and property etc. The term ‘confidential’ does not refer to UK Government security classifications, but is a generic industry standard term.

Information Destruction – the destruction (shredding or disintegration) of confidential material to a state that is unrecognisable and compliant with the Data Protection Act 1998.

Information Governance – the set of multi-disciplinary structures, policies, procedures, processes and controls implemented to manage information at an enterprise level, supporting an organisation’s immediate and future regulatory, legal, risk, environmental and operational requirements.

Data Protection Act 1998 – if you handle personal information about individuals, you have a number of legal obligations to protect that information. Principle 7 of the Act states that appropriate technical and organisational measures shall be taken against unauthorized processing of personal data.

BSEN15713 – Approved European standards for Information Destruction, that supersedes any other national standards. Providing secure information governance from collection, destruction and recycling. These standards must be incorporated within a robust quality management system and audited through an approved UKAS approved auditor to ensure compliance.

ISO 9001 & 14001 – UKAS approved Quality management and Environmental systems ensures a service provider belonging to the BSIA operates to the highest standards incorporating the BSEN15713 and is audited yearly to ensure quality procedures are maintained.

DIN (Deutsches Institut für Normung) – the German national organisation for standardisation and is that country’s ISO member body. DIN is a Registered German Association for standards.

Centre for the Protection of National Infrastructure (CPNI) – High security – The Centre for the Protection of National Infrastructure (CPNI) protects national security by providing protective security advice to the UK’s national infrastructure as defined by the Government as: “those facilities, systems, sites and networks necessary for the functioning of the country and the delivery of the essential services upon which daily life in the UK depends”.

Centre of Excellence in Cyber Security (CESG) – protects the vital interests of the UK by providing policy and assistance on the security of communications and electronic data, working in partnership with industry and academia. CESG is the UK Government’s National Technical Authority for Information Assurance (IA). Core customers are the UK’s central government departments and agencies, and the Armed Forces. It also works with the wider public sector, including the Health Service, law enforcement and local government, as well as all essential services that form the UK’s Critical National Infrastructure, including power and water.

Cabinet Office Government Security Classifications Policy – High security – The Cabinet Office issued the Government Security Classifications Policy, which took effect in April 2014 replacing the old Government Protective Marking Scheme.

TOP SECRET. The Government’s most sensitive information requiring the highest levels of protection from the most serious threats. For example, where compromise could cause widespread loss of life or else threaten the security or economic wellbeing of the country or friendly nations.

SECRET. Very sensitive information that justifies heightened protective measures to defend against determined and highly capable threat actors. For example, where compromise could seriously damage military capabilities, international relations or the investigation of serious organised crime.

OFFICIAL. The majority of information that is created or processed by the public sector. This includes routine business operations and services, some of which could have damaging consequences if lost, stolen or published in the media, but are not subject to a heightened threat profile. A limited subset of OFFICIAL information that would have more damaging consequences (for individuals, an organisation or government generally) if it were lost, stolen or published in the media is classified ‘OFFICIAL-SENSITIVE’.

Most public authorities will fall into the OFFICIAL Category (subject to individual risk assessments), with best practice information destruction standards BSEN15713 incorporated within a robust ISO9001 quality control system, demonstrating good compliance. If further guidance is required within the public authorities this should be obtained from their internal security controller, and for further guidance refer to the Cabinet Office website.

Downloadable Documents

  1. BSIA Guidelines
  2. Business Processes
  3. Product Guide